Knitting Heroes: my Granny

For day 3 of the Knitting and Crochet Blog Week the topic was to write about a knitting or crochet hero. As soon as I saw this topic I had no doubts who I would write about: my Granny.
She taught me to knit when I was little but I never made anything other than the odd scarf for a teddy until I was at University. I know she would be proud if she saw what I could make now.
She used to knit school cardigans for me and my sisters and many multiples of small items for us to sell at Church Fair Brownie stalls over the years (only now can I appreciate how much time she must have spent doing this ) but the things I remember most fondly are the toys that she would knit for us.  Some have got lost over the years but I have two, both designed by Jean Greenhowe that mean a lot to me.
The first, a caveman is about 10cm tall. I can’t remember how old I was when Granny knit him but I think he must be about 20 years ago. I did have a witch as well that I must try and find and my two sisters had a ghost that rattles, a fisherman, an artist and I think a cowboy as well.

IMG_6670

The second is a ballet dancer with her own presentation stand and is about 30cm. This dates back from my ballet days which I think I stopped at least 16 years ago. As you can see she could do with a bit of a clean!

IMG_6669

A few years ago I was really pleased to find I found a second hand copy of an out of date book of Jean Greenhowe’s containing loads of the patterns that I remembered as a child.

IMG_6672

Then my Auntie went through her collection of my Granny’s knitting pattens and found many that were duplicates so now I have quite a collection.

IMG_6673

There are some brilliant new toy designers out there that I have explored because of the influence of my Granny. I especially love Anna Hrachovec of Mochimochi Land and also the wonderful world of Cheezombie.
My favourite toy that I made myself is my Gnome designed by Alan Dart.
I think my Granny would have liked him too.

IMG_6684

To discover other people’s knitting and crochet heroes google 3KCBWDAY3 or click here.
This entry was posted in Knitting and Crochet Blog Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Knitting Heroes: my Granny

  1. Truly Myrtle says:

    Totally LOVE your gnome! Fantastic!
    That stash of books is brilliant – you could have sooooo much fun 🙂

  2. How wonderful to have these hand crafted toys. I hope my niece and nephews will remember my hand made toys so fondly.

  3. mayadulac says:

    Grannies are excellent. Mine didn’t teach me to knit (my mum did that) but I inherited all of my grandma’s needles. I’m already looking forward to the day when I get to be the granny and teach my (currently non-existent) children and grandchildren the wonders of knitting.

  4. Karen says:

    Your gnome is adorable!!
    Your post is wonderful. It’s so nice you have this special connection to your grandmother. She’d be so proud that you followed in her footsteps.

  5. Sue says:

    Yay to Grannies. My husbands’ Granny got me knitting when I was 20, not stopped since

  6. frockfarie says:

    I knitted that same ballerina doll for my daughter.

  7. Jules says:

    Your toys are fabulous! How lucky to have a granny who knitted them for you. Those books look so neat – they remind me of Alan dart’s work. Nice post.

  8. knittingpirate says:

    What adorable toys! It’s awesome that you can remember your Granny through the things she made for you.

  9. peppermintmochamama says:

    I love your ballerina and the gnome – such treasures. Sweet tribute to your granny and I bet she would be just as proud of you as you are of her.

  10. gracey says:

    Those are awesome that you still have them. The only thing I have is a few crochet magazines with my Meme’s address on them. My grandmother taught me to crochet.

  11. tharensolo says:

    Your granny sounds awesome! I love the little cave man.

  12. Emma says:

    I love that caveman! What a generous granny 🙂

  13. Those little knitted toys are stunning. I have a few I have made for myself and presents. People go crazy for them!

  14. So glad you are following along 🙂

  15. Kepanie says:

    Your grandmother is certainly proud. How cool to get some of her vintage booklets that she used to knit from for you and your ohana.
    Your gnome is neat and cute.

Leave a Reply

